[Eats] Brocoli Chicken Quinoa Casserole

I gotta be honest, I’m not a casserole gal. (Minus green bean casserole–FAVE FAVE FAVE!)

But that’s exactly what Chad is.  A casserole man.  Or really, a meat and potato man.

Since I’m not a meat and potato girl, I’ve been trying find ways to meet in the middle.

A little while ago I saw this recipe.  Then I saw Sydni make this.

And thus was born this casserole conglomeration!

What’s not good with French Fried Onions ontop?!

Broccoli Chicken Quinoa Casserole

2 large chicken breasts shredded (I cooked mine in crock-pot with lemon juice, EVOO, s&p, garlic and onion pwdr)

1 1/2 cups of fresh broccoli (or frozen!)

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 cup dry quinoa

French Fried Onions

Havarti cheese (if you please!)

Tony Chachere’s

Cook the quinoa like this.  It’s tedious, but it’s worth it!You can skip some of the rinsing if that’s a problem.

Preheat oven to 375.  Combine cooked and shredded chicken, fresh broccoli, soup, and quiona in bowl or baking dish.  Sprinkle onions on top and add cheese! I added a little Havarti + Colby Jack, then sprinkled on the onions.

Wrap with foil and bake for 25-30 minutes. Then about 2 minutes without foil to get extra crispy.

And viola!  A healthy casserole, right? Right?!

Sprinkle the Tony’s on.  It’s “good on everything” remember?

So to all you casserole/meat-and-potato-stomachs, I bet you’ll go back for seconds.  I did.

Leave a Reply

